Javier Soriano, Harmony Stahl, and Melissa Bowen were selected as the Elko County School District’s October Staff and Teachers Achieving Results with Students (STARS) award recipients.

Soriano, a building superintendent at West Wendover High School (WWHS), was nominated by WWHS Principal Craig Kyllonen.

“Mr. Soriano’s role in building maintenance has resulted in significant improvements within our

school. He consistently takes a proactive approach and has presented solutions for making the

school better. Mr. Soriano’s well-known presence in our community allows him to serve as a positive liaison between the school and the community, enhancing the bond between West Wendover High School and the community,” said Kyllonen.

Stahl, a media specialist at Northside Elementary School (NES), was nominated by an ECSD employee who wishes to remain anonymous.

The nomination read: “Mrs. Stahl is an amazing, dedicated, and well-versed individual. She is involved in the school and town community on many levels. In our school community she runs both the library and technology department, putting the needs of others in front of herself. She also actively seeks ways to update the library to make it more accessible for students. She is the lead on our book fair and science fair. She is a robotics coach and is always there for students.”

Bowen is a second-grade teacher at Northside Elementary School. She was nominated by NES music teacher Becky Tilley.

The nomination explained Bowen acted as a mentor to Tilley during her student teaching last year.

“She encouraged me through all the tears and tough times as I learned and grew as a teacher. She was an excellent guide, mentor, friend, and cheerleader. Now, as I continue my journey in education as a full-time teacher, she continues to support me. She is generous with her time and wisdom, always willing to help me with anything I need. This goes above and beyond what is expected of a regular classroom teacher. She did it with a smile and an incredible amount of patience.”

Recognition of these deserving employees would not be possible without sponsors: LeeAnne's Floral Designs, Maverick Gaming, and Rotary Club of Elko Desert Sunrise.

Beginning this school year, the employee recognition program will begin recognizing three employees on a monthly basis through May next year. The individuals selected do not need to be a classroom teacher and could be any employee who provides services at any Elko County School District school or department.

Information and the nomination form can be found at https://www.ecsdnv.net/page/stars-program. A direct link to the form is available here: https://forms.gle/d1MohfxpsqVKsqSh9